≡ Menu

Caspian countries to sign memorandum to regulate offshore oil exploitation

ALMATY, June 29 — Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russia, Turkmenistan and Iran will sign a document to regulate offshore oil exploitation and protect environment at the Caspian Sea, said a Kazakh official.

In view of the serious consequences of the recent oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, Caspian countries should produce a document to clearly define the responsibility of each country in case of an offshore accident, Kazakh Environment Minister Nurgali Ashimov told the country's lower house of parliament.

The five Caspian countries plan to sign a memorandum in the Kazakh capital of Astana this year.

In November 2003, the five Caspian countries signed a convention in Tehran to reduce and control pollution of the Caspian Sea. (PNA/Xinhua) vcs/utb

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Next post:

Previous post: