≡ Menu

Today in History

June 30, 2010

MANILA, June 30 — On this day, June 30, 2010, Senator Benigno Simeon "Noynoy" Cojuangco Aquino III is inaugurated as the 15th President of the Philippines at the Quirino Grandstand in Rizal Park, Manila. He was elected in the country's first automated polls on May 10, 2010.

As mandated by the 1987 Constitution, the new president is be to inaugurated at noon of June 30, although in the past, there were different dates for the inauguration of the incoming president.

Among the former presidents who also took their oaths of office on this day were Presidents Fidel V. Ramos, Joseph Ejercito Estrada and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

General Emilio Aguinaldo, who was the first President of the Philippines, was inaugurated officially on January 23, 1899.

The presidents who were inaugurated at noon of December 30 under the 1935 Constitution were Manuel L. Quezon (first inaugurated as Philippine Commonwealth on November 15, 1935, and inaugurated for a second term on December 30, 1941), Elpidio Quirino (1949), Ramon Magsaysay (1953), Carlos P. Garcia (1957), Diosdado Macapagal (1961) and Ferdinand E. Marcos (1965, 1969). Only two presidents under the 1935 Constitution were not inaugurated on December 30, namely Sergio Osmeña and Manuel Roxas.

To date, former Presidents Estrada and Arroyo were the only ones who took their oaths of office and inaugural addresses in two different places. Estrada delivered his inaugural address at Barasoain Church in Malolos, Bulacan, and Mrs. Arroyo did the same in Cebu City.

Traditionally, the Quirino Grandstand is where most inaugurations of the incoming presidents happen, as in the case of Quirino, Magsaysay, Garcia, Macapagal, Marcos, Ramos and Aquino.

Other presidents such as Aguinaldo and Estrada were inaugurated at the Barasoain Church in Malolos, Bulacan; Quezon, Laurel and Roxas took their oaths of office in front of the old Legislative Building in Manila; and Corazon C. Aquino in Sampaguita Hall (now Kalayaan Hall) of Club Filipino in Greenhills, San Juan City.

On January 20, 2001, then Vice President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo took her first oath of office as president at the EDSA Shrine in Quezon City.

Three former presidents assumed the country's highest post upon the death of their predecessors. They were Osmeña, Quirino and Garcia. (PNA) scs/SDT/mec

Comments on this entry are closed.