≡ Menu

DOLE Region 1 clarifies workers' benefits during holidays

By Freddie G. Lazaro

SAN FERNANDO CITY, La Union,, Aug. 23 — – The Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) regional office has issued an advisory clarifying the benefits on the different labels of holidays for workers from private and government sectors.

DOLE issued the advisory following its pronouncement regarding Proclamation Nos. 295 and 455 issued by President Benigno S. Aquino III on November 24, 2011 and August 13, 2012, respectively, enumerating the regular and special (non-working) holidays for August 2012: (regular holiday) – August 20 (Monday), Eid’l Fitr Day; and August 27 (Monday), National Heroes Day; and special (non-working) holiday – August 21 (Tuesday)- Ninoy Aquino Day.

DOLE Region 1 Director Grace Y Ursua said that there are three kinds of holidays in the Philippines, namely: regular; special non-working; and special working.

“These designations do not imply any preferential significance as some are just “regular”, while the others are “special”; rather, these are important in the determination/computation of wages of workers during a particular holiday,” she said.

“The difference between regular holidays and special non-working holidays is that a covered employee who does not work on a regular holiday will still receive his/her daily wage, provided he/she reports for work or is on leave with pay on the day immediately preceding the holiday,” she added.

She disclosed that an employee is not entitled to any pay if he/she does not work on a special non-working day, except when there is company policy/practice or collective Bargaining Agreement granting payment, or he/she has accrued leave credits where his/her absence will be charged.

“A covered employee who works on regular holidays gets double or 200 percent of his/her regular pay, while an employee gets only 130 percent if he/she renders work on a special day,” she said.

She noted that special working holidays are declared for the commemoration of significant or historical events, but are considered ordinary working days.

As such, the rules on payment during regular or special non-working holiday do not apply.

She stressed that there are 12 regular holidays in a year are the following: New Year’s Day, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Araw ng Kagitingan, Labor Day, Independence Day, National Heroes Day, Bonifacio Day, Christmas Day, Rizal Day, Eid’l Adha and Eid’l Fitr.

For this year, the special non-working holidays are: Chinese New Year, Ninoy Aquino Day, All Saints’ Day, November 2 and New Year’s Eve. (PNA)


{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment