≡ Menu

3 cities and towns in Misamis Occidental, prone to coastal flooding

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, June 18 — The Mines and Geo-science Bureau of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) has, except for two towns, identified all towns and three cities of Misamis Occidental as prone to coastal flooding, the Office of Civil Defense here said on Thursday.

Ana Cañeda, OCD Regional Director in Northern Mindanao, made the disclosure during the two-day Misamis Occidental Summit in this seaport capital where the stakeholders in both the public and private sectors declared a commitment to “Disaster Risk Reduction Management” (DRRM) policy.

Cañeda said that Misamis Occidental falls under the “Type 4” of the Corona Climate Classification System which means an “even distribution rainfalls throughout the year.”

Except for the municipal towns of Concepcion and Don Mariano, the towns of Aloran, Panaon, Sinacaban,Tudela ,Lopez Jaena, Jimenez, Clarin and Baliangao, all of Misamis Occidental and the province corresponding cities of Ozamis and Oroquieta are identified as places that are susceptible to flooding, storm surge, and landslides, Cañeda added.

With the release of the geo-hazard assessment of Misamis Occidental, the OCD in Northern Mindanao spearheaded the DRRM summit in order to summon the involvement and commitment of the province’s local government units and other stakeholders to forge a commitment for strong cooperation during disasters.

Cañeda said that during the summit the local government units outlined the roles and responsibilities in enhancing the stakeholders’ capabilities on DRRM system while serving as the avenue for consultation on major challenges in the implementation of the DRRM activities in the local level. (PNA)


{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment