≡ Menu

DENR 7 completes delineation of 24 Central Visayas protected areas

CEBU CITY, Oct. 30 — The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) 7 has completed the forest delineation of all 24 protected areas in Central Visayas, an official said.

Dr. Isabelo Montejo, DENR 7 executive director, said delineation involves the actual ground survey of the boundaries of protected areas using global positioning system (GPS) and other applicable surveying instruments or technologies to map the area.

Montejo said the delineation was conducted by the Land Evaluation Party (LEP), which is under the DENR 7’s Forest Management Services.

He said the delineation will allow the local government units designated to manage the region’s protected sites to come up with “buffer zones” to prevent the exploitation of the sites and to promote sustainability to those living near these areas.

Montejo said the delineation included the six protected areas in Cebu, two in Negros Oriental and 16 in Bohol.

In Cebu, the protected areas are the Central Cebu Protected Landscape (CCPL), Olango Island Wildlife Sanctuary in Lapu-Lapu City, Bantayan Island Wilderness Area, Camotes Island Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve, Guadalupe Mainit Mabugnao Hotsprings National Park in Cebu City and the Tañon Strait Protected Seascape.

In Negros Oriental, these are the Balinsasayao Twin Lakes Natural Park and the Apo Island Protected Landscape/Seascape.

In Bohol, the 16 protected areas are the Rajah Sikatuna Protected Landscape; Talibon Group of Islands Protected Landscape and Seascape; Chocolate Hills Natural Monument; Alburquerque-Loay-Loboc Protected Landscape/Seascape; Panglao Island Protected Seascape;

Loboc Watershed Forest Reserve; Alejawan-Cansuhay-Anibongan River Watershed Forest Reserve; Tubigon Group of Islands Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve/Wilderness Area; Clarin Group of Islands Wilderness Area; Calape Group of Islands Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve and Wilderness Area; Cabilao Sandingan Islands, Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve;

Candijay-Anda-Mabini Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve and Wilderness Area; Inabanga Wilderness Area and Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve; President Carlos P. Garcia Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve; Gerafe Group of Islands Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve/Wilderness Area; and Ubay Mangrove Swamp Forest Reserve. (PNA)


{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment