≡ Menu

South Cotabato launches 2015 search for model schools in solid waste management

GENERAL SANTOS CITY, Aug. 3 — Twenty schools in South Cotabato have signed up for the province-wide Search for Model Schools in Solid Waste Management (SWM) this year.

Elbe Balucanag, acting environment management division head of the Provincial Environment Management Office, said Monday the 20 schools are currently undergoing evaluation in terms of the implementation of SWM program as part of the search.

She said the local government had activated a technical working group (TWG) to spearhead the annual search, which is a flagship project of the PEMO.

The TWG, which is composed of representatives from various government agencies and non-government groups, specifically drafted the mechanics, rules, guidelines and criteria of the competition, she said.

“The initial evaluation phase, which is unannounced, is presently ongoing,” Balucanag said.

She said the final evaluation is slated on the last week of September to the second week of October.

Balucanag said the participating schools were earlier endorsed by their respective municipal and city local governments in coordination with the Department of Education South Cotabato division.

The entries in the elementary category are: Lopez Jaena Elementary School (Norala); Sto. Nino Central Elementary School (Sto. Nino); Lugan Central Elementary School (T’boli); Moloy Elementary School (Surallah); Liwanay Elementary School (Banga); Koronadal Central Elementary School II (Koronadal City); Palkan Elementary School (Tupi), Bukay Pait Elementary School (Tantangan); Tampakan Central Elementary School (Tampakan) and Kalkam Elementary School (Polomolok).

In the high school category, the participating schools are: Sergio Legayada National High School (Norala); Guinsang-an National High School (Sto. Nino); T’boli National High School (T’boli); Surallah National High School Surallah), Rang-ay Integrated School (Banga); Marbel 7 National High School (Koronadal City); Cebuano National High School (Tupi); Tantangan Trade National High School (Tantangan); Tampakan National High School School (Tampakan) and Poblacion Polomolok National High School (Polomolok).

Balucanag said the TWG had conducted an orientation for the participating schools to ensure the proper implementation of the search.

She said that based on the approved criteria, the entries will be judged for their SWM program’s system and process (60 percent), organization and support system (30 percent), cleanliness and beatification (5 percent) and community participation (5 percent).

The provincial government has set aside some P158,000 for the incentives of this year’s winning entries, Balucanag said.

She said a cash prize of P30,000 was for the first prize, P20,000 for the second prize, P15,000 for the third prize, P10,000 for the fourth prize and P8,000 for the fifth prize.

Each non-winning entry will get a consolation prize of P5,000, she said.

Balucanag said the winning entries will be announced in November to coincide with the celebration of the International Environment Consciousness Month, Climate Change Month and Clean Air Month. (PNA)


Comments on this entry are closed.